Section 2.—National Defence.*

Before the outbreak of the Great War, the Canadian Militia consisted of a Permanent Force, which on Mar. 31, 1914, numbered 3,000 officers, non-commissioned officers and men, and an Active Militia, which at the same date numbered 5,615 officers and 68,991 non-commissioned officers and men. After the outbreak of war on Aug. 4, 1914, successive contingents of troops of all arms were recruited, equipped, trained and dispatched by the Dominion Government to England for active service. When hostilities ceased on Nov. 11, 1918, there had been sent overseas, for active service in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, about 418,000 officers, non-commissioned officers and men.† In addition to these, several thousand Canadians served with the Royal Air Force.

Organization.—Prior to 1922, three departments of the Canadian Government were concerned with the defence of Canada, viz., the Department of Militia and Defence, the Department of the Naval Service, and the Air Board.

During the Session of 1922, the National Defence Act was passed, consolidating the Department of Militia and Defence, the Department of the Naval Service and the Air Board into the Department of National Defence. This Act became effective by proclamation on Jan. 1, 1923. Under it, there is a Minister of National Defence and a Deputy Minister of National Defence. To advise the Minister, a Defence Council has been constituted by Order in Council, consisting of a President (the Minister), a Vice-President (the Deputy Minister), and the following members: the Chief of the General Staff and the Chief of the Naval Staff. The Adjutant-General, the Quartermaster-General and the Senior Air Officer, Royal Canadian Air Force, are associate members. There is also a Secretary of the Council.

Subsection 1.—The Naval Service.

The Naval Service of Canada was established by the Naval Service Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 43), the main provisions of which were described in the 1910 Year Book, pp. xxvi-xxix.

The Department of Naval Service was amalgamated with the Department of Militia and Defence and the Canadian Air Board, to form the Department of National Defence, in 1922.

The Royal Canadian Navy and its Reserve Forces are under the direction of the Chief of the Naval Staff, who is a member of the Defence Council. The Service consists of:-

Royal Canadian Navy (permanent).
 Royal Canadian Naval Reserve (non-permanent).
 Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve (non-permanent).

Administrative and operational staff for all three Forces is provided from the Royal Canadian Navy.

The Royal Canadian Navy.—The Royal Canadian Navy has an authorized complement of 104 officers and 812 ratings. A large majority of the men of the R.C.N. are serving under 7-year engagements. A small proportion consists of specialist gunnery, torpedo, and engine-room ratings, lent from the Royal Navy (in December, 1934, this proportion amounted to 2 p.c.).

^{*}Revised by H. W. Brown, Asst. Deputy Minister, Department of National Defence.

†For the detailed expenditures of the Dominion Government on account of war appropriations in the fiscal years 1915-21, see the Canada Year Book, 1921, p. 798.